• Black Dog Lowertown (map)
  • 308 East Prince Street
  • Saint Paul, MN, 55101
  • United States

Cherry Spoon Collective is a new, multi-generational, multi-instrumental group of 15+ improvising local musician/composers. Musician members are active in several prominent local smaller ensembles (Zeitgeist, Jelloslave, Orange Mighty Trio, Coloring Time, etc.) that represent the most interesting music scenes the Twin Cities has to offer. 

This experimental music collective will feature freshly commissioned and improvisational new music. Members of the Cherry Spoon Collective are top-notch composers/musicians who are engaged in their work, performing at the top of their game and seek to create a vibrant environment for new music.

Project leaders for Cherry Spoon Collective include members Michelle Kinney (cello), Nick Guadette (bass) and Patrick O’Keefe (sax), and includes the following musicians: Laura Harada (violin), Melissa Mathews (violin), Zack Kline (violin), Jacqueline Ultan (cello), Graham O’Brien (drums), Chris Thomson (sax), George Cartwright (sax), Trent Jacobs (bassoon), Lee Tran (sax), Chris Cunningham (guitar), Joe Horton (spoken word), Geoff Senn (trumpet) and Mike Ethen (trombone). 

This project is made possible in part by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the American Composers Forum. The American Composers Forum (ACF), a St. Paul-based national organization. ACF makes possible the artistic development of composers, the creative development of music, and fosters a thriving community for music.